Nagabo is situated at E 94.8757° N 21.1767° and is now a
palimpsest of Bagan era and later
buildings, located to the east and southeast of modern Taungbi
Nagakyit is situated at E 94.8946° N 21.1929° and was located
between the Wetkyi-in stream and the Shwezigon Pagoda, according
to an inscription in the Shwezigon that mentions a village
called Naga Kyitmaw.
(3) Anurada or Myinkaba
Anurada is situated at E 94.8654° N 21.1552° and is today called
Myinkaba, and is the only Pali name found among the nineteen
Ywasaik is situated at E 94.8918° N 21.15° and is estimated to
have been near the modern villages of east and west Phaw Saw.
The "third palace", said to have been founded by King Thike-tine-min
in 514 AD, is believed to have been located here on the
perimeter of the Bagan archaeological zone.
(5) Nyaung U
Nyaung-U is situated at E 94.9101° N 21.2011° and it is a modern
market town and administrative centre, retains its archaic name.
Housing developments in the area make new archaeological
discoveries difficult, though open excavations from construction
work remain potential sources of information.
Kyaussaga is situated at E 94.8681° N 21.1277° and, it is east
of the present day Thiripyitsaya village, is south of New Bagan
and on the southern bank of Ye-O-Zin stream. Thiripyitsaya is
said to have been the second capital, located near the
Lawkananda pagoda, a riverside structure that prominently marks
the southern extent of the city.
Kyinlo is situated at E 94.9133° N 21.0792° and is a site in a
cultivated field east of Kinka on the
Bagan-Chauk road, and north of Kyaukkan.
Taungba is situated at E 94.9656° N 21.1259° and is a village
near the road between Nyaung-U and Kyaukpadaung, within view of
the Tooth Relic Pagoda on Tuyin Mountain. It was relocated in
modern times due to highway construction. There are several
sites of historic and archaeological significance. The Phaya Hti
Saung or Hti Ta Hsaung pagoda, located one kilometre northwest
of Taungba village, is reputed to enshrine bodily relics of the
medieval monk, Shin Arahan, who is credited with being mentor to
Yonhlut is situated at E 94.9647° N 21.1133°, also known as Yon
Hlut Kyun, is a name that has
been variously translated as Free Rabbit Island, Free Animal
Forest, A Jungle Where Rabbits Were Set Free, or The Place of
the Hare's Release. To confuse matters, an island in the
Ayeyarwady River opposite Bagan is also called Yon Hlut Kyun,
although its claim to historical status barely goes back 50
Myegedwin is situated at E 95.0024° N 21.1337°. The present
village of Mye-thindwin is only
150 years old, but the area is claimed in local folklore to have
been the birthplace of Bagan's first king, Thamuddarit.
Zi-o is situated at E 95.0411° N 21.1087°. Numerous abandoned
furnaces for smelting iron have been located near this village.
The unrestored Gu Gyaung pagoda complex near Mye-thindwin
features a stupa on the western side of a small temple There is
also a brick foundation of a third structure, eight by ten
Kokko is situated at E 95.0195° N 21.0989° and was abandoned,
according to local records, in 1878 and families transferred to
neighbouring villages, including Mye-thindwin. Locals believe
that Myin-kwe-min, said to have become king at Bagan in AD 716,
was the son of a wealthy man from Kokko. On an unexcavated mound
of potsherds up to two metres high, remains from the Bagan and
Ava periods have been recovered.
Kokkethein is situated at E 95.06267 N 21.03181 and is claimed
by the people of Panidwin to be the original name of their
village. It is one of several villages in the eastern hinterland
of Bagan with a substantial presence of old furnaces for
extracting iron from natural iron nodules in the soil.
Tuti is situated at E 95.0163° N 20.9850°, modern Suti, has at
least three fields nearby which contain old potsherds. A hint of
antiquity is contained in the name of the village monastery,
Than-bo or "iron smelting". There are old iron furnaces nearby,
and local people report digging up bronze bowls with lids.
Nyaungwun is situated at E 94.9905° N 20.9597°, the present
Tetma village, is near the southernmost tip of the Tuyin
mountain range. Its older name was Nyaung Bin or Banyan Tree
village, on account of big banyan trees that once surrounded it.
Around the village are old and ruined furnaces for smelting
Ywamon is situated at E 95.0707° N 21.2861° and is an abandoned
settlement known today as
Shwetaung Ywahmine, near Letpanchibaw.
Letpanchibaw is situated at E 95.0627° N 21.2828°. It is an
excavation site where artifacts found included potsherds,
domestic utensils, stone and bronze weapons, beads, ear plugs
and stone rings.
Onmya situated at E 94.8675° N 20.9065°.
Singu is situated at E94.8675° N 20.9065° are in the canonical
list of nineteen villages.