|Type of monument
||: Library / Cave Style
||: North of Thabyinnyu
||: Old Bagan
||: King Anawrahta
||: A.D 1057
Pitaka Taik means the "library of Buddhist scriptures". After the
conquest of Thaton, King Anawrahta carted off 30 elephant-loads of
Buddhist scriptures. The he built this library to house them in
1058. The design follows the basic Early Bagan Cave Style known as "Gu",
perfect for the preservation of light-sensitive, palm-leaf
This is the only Library of ancient times,
seen today. Each side of the monument measures (51) feet. There
are three entrances in the front way and three windows on each
side. The windows are decorated with carvings of lion images.
There is a passage way between the walls and the inner hall.
It was repaired in 1738 by King Bodawpaya of the
Kongbaung Dynasty. The architecture of the square building is
notable for the perforated stone windows and the plaster carvings on
the roof in limitation of Myanmar architectural woodcarvings.